Record low.

Sweden is having some record low temperatures for this time of the year.
It was -22 degC (-7.6 degF) this morning when Fredrik went to work at 7AM.
It is hovering around -15 degC during the day (5 degF).

We plan on keeping Leia home from daycare a lot in December because of my parents being here, but I will most likely keep her home because I don’t think I can make the 2 hours of walking in this cold temperature.  Someone will find me frozen in my tracks somewhere along the way.  And Leia too for that matter.. I know Nordic children are used to the cold weather, even thrive in it, but this weather seems a bit much to get out in (for walking back and forth to daycare).

We were supposed to have more snow last night/today, but I’ve not seen one snowflake.  We’re hoping that the weather stays clear so that my parents have no delays or cancelled flights for their trip.  On the way here they fly from Cleveland to Newark, NJ, to Stockholm, to Gothenburg.  (What a long trip!)  And then on the way home they fly from Gothenburg to Copenhagen to Newark to Cleveland.  And I believe they are ready for their trip.  :)  Everything packed, even Christmas presents, someone to look after their cat, and someone to drive them and pick them up from the airport.  The temperature there is going back and forth between 30-50 degF (10 to -1 degC).  So I do think they are going to be in for a weather shock after feeling this bitter cold weather.  They have only been here one other time during the winter, and that was… 6 years ago!  They came and stayed 1½-2 weeks, right before Christmas until right after New Years.  So I’m curious to see how the cold and darkness affect them. :)

But that is all for now, I want to go start on dinner!

~ by Hillary Molin on December 1, 2010.

Leave a comment